Posted by: John Adams | July 21, 2008

A Few Random Thoughts

  • This last week has been amazingly restful. I’ve spent it at the beach on Topsail Island, North Carolina, with my family and Bernard. A friend’s church rented us a condo with an ocean view. We’ve spent the week trying new restaurants, watching The Dark Knight, and in my case (though not Bernard’s) getting really, really sunburnt.
  • The Dark Knight was a great movie. I still haven’t seen Wall-E, but it may go down as the best that this summer had to offer. Heath Ledger turned in a stellar performance for his final role, playing the Joker as a chilling yet likable anarchist. Also, I may be a bit slow on the uptake, but I didn’t see the whole Two-Face thing coming until the very end.
  • I’m in the “suspended in mid-air” phase of my Regent application. They called me while we were in Dallas and conducted a phone interview, telling me they’d be contacting me within 2-3 weeks. It’s been over a week and I must be getting close. It would be nice to know whether or not I’ll be living in Virginia Beach so I could start looking for a place to live. I think the Lord is using this interim period to nail down some things in my character that have been flapping in the wind. Also, it may just be that God wants me to appreciate the moment I’m currently living in – no responsibility, open roads in every direction – before I start down the road that will eventually lead me home.
  • We left the beach today and headed over to Jacksonville, NC, where my aunt lives. She’s out of town for a few days, so we’re housesitting for her until she returns. I have a lot of childhood memories attached to this house, so it’s been neat walking the halls and remembering childhood games in the cul-de-sac. There’s been only one downside so far (well, two if you count the mouse that’s currently making noise underneath the wardrobe, but I grew up in Haiti with all sorts of varmints, so I don’t) – Sammy the Dog perpetually smells as though he’s just taken a romp in the rain. There is nothing worse than the smell of a wet dog, but he isn’t even wet! He just smells bad. He’s getting old, so he’s very affectionate and sweet. He just smells like a thousand mildewy blankets at a homeless shelter, and I can’t stand to be near him. It’s nothing personal, Sammy. Just know that the next time you see a high-pressure water hose pointed in your direction. It’s bath time!
Responses

  1. sweet, this answered all my questions. 🙂 sounds like you’re enjoying this time even though it may be hard to just rest. i know how that is…
    you should bathe sammy.
    ashley brosen found a mouse living in her room but i don’t think has been successful in getting him out.
    who’s bernard and when is your brother coming back to us at city kids?

  2. Bernard is a good friend of mine. I’m surprised you haven’t heard of him. I’ve often heard him referred to as a younger, more ethnically diverse version of George Clooney. He did a short stint at PBC a few years ago, and now resides in Vancouver.

    Gabe will be back in a couple of weeks (I think?). I’m sure he misses his STITCHES kids a lot.

    Sammy’s drinking out of the toilet bowl, so I gotta go…

  3. […] – bookmarked by 6 members originally found by AnME on 2008-08-23 A Few Random Thoughts https://tinroofchorus.wordpress.com/2008/07/21/a-few-random-thoughts/ – bookmarked by 5 members […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

