Posted by: John Adams | July 31, 2008

Where in the World Am I Going?

I didn’t get into Regent. Luis read me the letter (they sent it to Portland) over the phone, and the letter said I didn’t get in.

Time for Plan B.

Plan B consisted mostly of finding a plan B.

My granddad phoned a couple of seminaries. One of them — Asbury Seminary — had a provision for non-accredited students. An admissions committee meets twice a year (May, November) to discuss students of my description. Obviously, late July falls in between those two dates.

“Is there anything else I can do to be admitted in the fall?” I ask Scott, the admissions counselor.

“Well, it’s never been done before, but I suppose you could write a letter to the committee, stating your case,” he replies.

I wrote the letter last night. It is probably sitting on someone’s desk today. I will know very soon whether it will be Kentucky in the fall, or something else until spring.

In the meantime, I’ve been looking at the website for L’Abri, a community/study center that Francis Schaeffer started in the 1950’s. Nestled high in the Swiss Alps, they have been inviting young people to come and explore the difficult questions about God, Scripture, meaning, and life in the context of community for 50 years. Their heyday was in the 1960’s – high-profile guests included Jimmy Page and Timothy Leary, but in the decades since, Francis Schaeffer has died and the place has settled back into a quiet retreat for seekers of all descriptions. It is an eccentric place — laptops are forbidden, chores are assigned, and one of the requirements is learning how to bake bread for communal meals. I would be able to speak French with the locals and explore the Alpine forests on my days off. Needless to say, I’m rooting for my acceptance to be deferred until spring.

Other than the topsy-turvy nature of the last week, I have been enjoying my time in North Carolina. A family barbecue I attended the other night was a great success, and I had fun beating Gabe at basketball afterwards. Last weekend, he and I visited the Haw River with some friends we met at summer camp several years ago. We tramped around an abandoned mill, going down to the river afterwards, where we saw a huge snake with a catfish stuck in its gullet. Occasionally, he would rear up out of the water in an attempt to swallow it, making all of us more nervous about being so close to him.

Gabe returned to Portland yesterday. Since he left, I have had the acute sense that summer is winding down. Asbury will respond soon, yea or nay. If I end up going to Switzerland, I will have to be there by August 19th. The vacation that began with a cloudy day in Portland, Oregon, and a car packed to the breaking point will soon be over. I will be living somewhere new and studying the Bible with all of my heart, soul, mind, and strength.

The question which remains, at least for now, is “Where?”

Responses

  1. John, I’m so thankful to the Lord for the heart for Him he has given you. I look forward to seeing how He works through you in our hurting world over the coming years. We’re praying for you.

  2. Thank you, Heidi! I greatly appreciate your prayers.

  3. Hey John, I met a nice evangelical kid from the bible belt of Texas who studied in L’Abri for a half of year in Switzerland and found it most beneficial to his spiritual journey. he is now currently helping film a documentary about religion in America, http://www.onenationmovie.com/home.htm
    he had nothing but good things to say about L’Abri and said the article in Christianity today didn’t do justice to what the place is all about.
    Studying under Ben Witherington sounds like a good option as well.
    So update me with your decision by squeezing in a little hand written letter to the blockz. peace kid


Leave a Reply

Categories

