Posted by: John Adams | October 16, 2008

Going to Paris!

After much suspense (well, not so much, but it sounded good), I was admitted to Asbury Seminary. It feels good to have the option of going. I’m not sure what I would have done had I not been admitted. I am 90% sure I am going to take this opportunity to continue my studies. There is a part of me that doesn’t want to move to Kentucky, though. (I will be across the street from a guy who’s studying here, though.)

This was the last day of the first half of fall term, so everyone was packing their bags and piling into cars and heading for airports or train stations to fan out across Europe. My roommate Tim and I are going to reunite after the 10-day break to travel to Italy, Portugal, and possibly England. During the break, however, I am headed to Paris and possibly the Netherlands. I am not good at planning things ahead of time, so today has consisted of last-minute plans and preparations, hostel reservations, and e-mails back and forth with the pastor I’ll be staying with in Paris. I bought a Eurail pass to prepare for my travels. Unfortunately, my plans weren’t finalized until today, so I didn’t have the chance to check and see if I need to reserve a seat on the train I’m taking to Paris. So I’ll be at the train station in Aigle bright and early tomorrow morning, hoping I can get a seat that will get me there by evening.

I’m just happy to be traveling, though. The pastor in Paris didn’t get the first e-mail I sent him, so it took me a long time to get in touch with him (hence, the lack of planning ahead). Then Tim slipped and fell down a ski slope that didn’t have very much snow on it and cut a huge gash just below his left knee. He was in the hospital for a couple of nights, and I wasn’t sure whether he’d still be up for traveling. Thankfully, however, his knee is healing just fine and although he’s still on crutches, he’s still game for going to Italy and Portugal. So right now, I’m counting blessings and bracing myself for the abuse I’m going to take by venturing into the Euro-zone. (Euros are significantly more valuable than U.S. dollars and Americans take a pounding in all the countries that use the Euro. Thankfully, the Swiss are a stubborn and incorrigible people that persist in using the Swiss Franc.)

I’ll try to post something when I’m in Paris, but don’t hold your breath. I’m sure as heck not shilling out a Euro a minute at some Internet cafe to update my blog.

Responses

  1. Hey, congratulations on the Asbury admission! It’s nice to know you have that option.

    We leave for Haiti on Tuesday for 10 days. I should at least look your mom up while we’re there. Would you email her phone number to me if you have a chance?

    Happy traveling!

  2. When people ask, “Where’s John these days?” I always chuckle. “Paris”, I tell them. How ideal is that. Their response is always, “…Wow.”

    Hope you’re putting your French to work.

  3. Gabe, have you had a chance to practice French yourself?

    John, go for it man. Keep me updated with the Seminary. I’ll have to get you my notes from Multnomah sumhau.

  4. Hahaha…Paris isn’t nearly as romantic as Americans think it is. It’s crowded, dirty, and all the public restrooms charge 50 cents to get in. But it was really cool to get the chance to go. Wish you could have been there.

    I am 90% on the seminary right now. I will keep you updated.

  5. congrats on getting in John! soak up your travels and let poetry flow.

  6. No, Matt, I have spoken French since John and I took it last Fall.


Leave a Reply

Categories

