Posted by: John Adams | January 14, 2009

Around the Web (Stuff You Should Read)

Christians on Obama

The Internet Monk has an excellent post on Christian attitudes toward the president as Inauguration Day approaches. A few things he’s heard recently:

“I will not support a man who hates our flag and hates our Bible.” This from an educated adult.

“He’s not even a Christian. He’s a Muslim.” I have heard this over and over and continue to hear it.

“He’s not my President.” This from all kinds of people.

“I hate Obama. I’d like to get in his face.” And worse. This from a child.

“We shouldn’t allow our children to watch the inauguration.” From an adult.

“I can’t wait till he’s _________ed.” I’ll skip the word so my blog isn’t sent to some FBI list. This from teenage boys, of course.

I believe that many Christians’ understanding of what God is doing in the world are too tied to who got elected, what government is doing, and what decisions the Supreme Court has made recently. Do we really believe that God is in charge, or not? Can His Kingdom not thrive and grow under a Democratic administration as well as a Republican one? I believe that we demonstrate our unbelief when we allow ourselves to descend into vitriol and slander directed toward a president with whom we disagree in some very key respects. In any case, the Monk has better thoughts. Go read his post.

Jesus and Jazz

Jason Harms has written a brief, entertaining post about playing jazz music to the glory of God in the Dominican Republic:

One of the interviewers said, “‘Give me Jesus?’ Why do you play that song in jazz?” I responded, “Regarding music, I love the sound of jazz. Regarding theme, I love the truth of Jesus. So that is what I love to play.” They put the song in and within the first few bars, they were so much enjoying the sound, they had to give to the theme a listen.

Artistic integrity and theological conviction don’t have to be mutually exclusive. It’s good to see Christians engage the culture like this.

“Dude, you look like James Blunt”–and other tales

My brother Gabriel furthers his reputation as the Seinfeld of the blogosphere with stories like this one:

I was once compared to singer/songwriter James Blunt. The person who told me was very drunk, but convinced nonetheless. Turning to his girlfriend he continued, “This guy looks just like James Blunt! Dude, you must get chicks. Do you play the guitar, too? (I nod.) He plays guitar too!” Several obscenities followed in his astonishment to my apparent resemblance to James Blunt.

And yes, he does get heaps of chicks. Or at least he would if he wasn’t so modest and Christian all the time. Punk.

Responses

  1. you know, living in Vermont really opened my eyes to the hope people place in election day. Coming from the opposite end, i know of only two people here who voted for McCain, and my election day was spent at a small pub with some friends screaming for joy at the thought of a democratic president. i think that there is a hope that many place in a president, but it is a hope that i have never experienced because no president will be my final hope. Vermont was the first state counted, closed, and is blue til the day she dies. i had never seen one of my friends more hopeful than on that night Obama won, and i could only think to myself “If only he knew Christ…”
    and i have also heard the most bigoted words out of the mouths of people who profess to be Christ followers, especially concerning Obama. it saddens me. i don’t think God is looking down on this and saying “oh crap..what is America coming to? i think they have finally lost their moral center”.
    and as an American, i followed this election closely, which is a feat cause i have never been a big proponent of politics in general. and as an American Christian i would have voted for Obama, but i waited too long to register here, so i couldn’t. And the thought of a black president (I’ve heard countless times that “Obama’s not even black”) makes me smile inside because it means one step for equality. now black parents can look their kids in the eye and say without a doubt that they could become president if they wanted. and that is a beautiful thing.
    the only thing deterring me from heading down to D.C. on the 20th is that there are only 95,000 beds in the surrounding hotels and an estimated 2,000,000 people showing up. i think a mild case of claustrophobia may set in.

  2. I kind of feel sorry for Obama. The hope many Americans have put in him is really just idolatry. If he wanted to, he could have his own personality cult. It will be very difficult for him to live up to such incredibly high expectations.

    I worry about his views on the sanctity of life. He appears poised to undo a lot of the changes pro-lifers have fought for over the last few years, like pro-life justices on the Supreme Court bench. His views on the abortion issue are the reason I didn’t vote for him, although I didn’t vote for McCain either.

    I agree with you, though, that it is beautiful that an African-American could get elected president. My grandparents, who grew up in North Carolina and Virginia, are old enough to remember the days when blacks had separate entrances to movie theaters, separate drinking fountains, and seats in the back of the bus. This year, both North Carolina and Virginia cast their electoral votes to a black man, the first time either had gone Democratic in over 20 years.

    At least on the issue of race, we’ve come a long way.


Leave a Reply

Categories

