Posted by: John Adams | March 14, 2010

10 Things I Want to Do While I’m 25

1. Get some sleep.

Somewhere back in my teens, I became a night owl. Some time before I’m 30, that’s got to stop. My body can’t handle going to bed at 2 a.m. and waking up at 7 anymore.

2. Get (more) humble.

It is amazing to me how much pride resides within my heart. I want to turn the other cheek more this year, listen more than I talk, lose a few arguments, and be OK with that.

3. Get a mentor.

One of life’s principles is that (generally) older people are wiser people. I want to be mentored by one of the good people here at Asbury Seminary who can keep me accountable and help me grow.

4. Get a mentee.

What good is knowledge if you’re not pouring it into others? I’m looking into the possibility of becoming a Big Brother to some kid in need of someone to look up to.

5. Get married.

It might a stretch to aim for this within a year, but anything is possible, right?

6. Write on a regular basis.

It takes discipline, since it’s a lot of work with very little reward, but I’d like to write stories and essays this year.

7. Stop procrastinating.

(Starting right after I finish this blog post.)

8. Figure out what I’m going to do after seminary.

I know I’d like to end up in France. I just don’t know how or with whom. I’d like to get that figured out this year.

9. Go somewhere I’ve never been.

New England, I’m looking your way.

10. Lead someone to Jesus.

We’re supposed to be fishers of men in more than theory, aren’t we? Right. Time to get to work.

Responses

  1. The Mentor/Mentee idea is great. I’m trying to do the same. As for marriage, not trying that one. 🙂 I think about it in about 5 years.

    Lead someone to Jesus is at the top of my list.

  2. I told you – i’m happy to help make # 5 happen. I can find you a girl and have you married off before you turn 26. 🙂 Ha. Ha. Ha. But, in my humble opinion, 25 is too young to get married. Live a little more first. Live more stories worth telling a wife.

    And as far as #6 – i’d love to read any stories or essays you write!

  3. w/r/t #5: peek-a-boo 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

